COID – Return of Earnings 2012/2013

The Compensation Commissioner once again extended the deadline for submission of the annual Return of Earnings (ROE) to  30 April 2013.

Employers who made use of the new online facility last year should do so again this year as the manual W.As8 forms will only be posted to employers who have not yet registered for online submissions.

The Director-General of Labour has also granted certain incentives to motivate employers to submit online and make payment within 90 days.

Employers who submit online and pay within 30 days will receive a 10% discount on their assessment value. Employers who pay within 60 or 9o days will receive a 5% or 2% discount respectively. These discounts will only become effective 01 April 2013 and applies to the 2012/2013 returns only. Interest and penalties calculated for forms submitted online will not be raised before 30 June 2013.

The Compensation Commissioner is also implementing stricter rules to ensure a successful assessment period. Employers who have registered for online submissions should not submit a manual form as well. In the event that more than one return is submitted for the same assessment period, the first submission will be accepted as final. No assessment revisions requested due to mistakes made by employers will be allowed after 01 April 2013 and criminal proceedings will be instituted for misrepresentation of facts.

To register and submit the ROE 2012/2013 online, visit http://roe.labour.gov.za/DolRegistrationWeb/landing.html

154 Comments

Filed under Evolution Payroll, General, HR, Industry Information, Legislative Updates, Partner Payroll

154 responses to “COID – Return of Earnings 2012/2013

  1. Madelein van der Watt

    I have received a few questions about the ROE website and whether it is possible to create one login to administer multiple employers’ accounts. Initially, I did say that each employer must create their own user profile but after some further investigation, I have found that one user does have the ability to process ROE submissions for more than one employer. By making use of the “Add Organisation to my profile” option, you are able to complete and submit the ROE on behalf of your clients.

    • Nadia

      Does any one know how this Discount amount for early payment of OID will work – will employees be able to deduct it immediately from the assessment amount if they pay early – because I have just spoken to the OID Call centre and apparently employees must pay the full amount and they will decide when and how the discounted amiunts will be allocated?????

      • Madelein van der Watt

        Hi Nadia

        The discount process is not clear at all and we are still waiting for clarification on the correct procedure to follow. If you do pay the full amount, it might result in an uphill battle to get the discount refunded. In my opinion, it is easier to pay the assessment value less the discount you think you are entitled to. If the Fund queries your payment and can proof that you should pay the full assessment value, then settle the difference. I would try this to ensure I get my discount as I think it highly unlikely that your discount will be refunded within reasonable time.

        If I receive any info on this topic that does not agree with my advice, I will post it immediately.

        Regards

        Madelein

    • Marelize

      Just wish the process to switch between organisations were easier?!

      • Antoinette

        Can anyone help please. I deducted the 10% discount that was offered and now I cannot get my Letter of Good Standing because according to them I short paid with that amount. Can anybody please guide us or shed some light on this. As this is becoming so frustrating to get our letter of good standing.

    • Wallace

      hey. I just registered to submit the ROE online..there is something that is confusing me,when we are submitting for 2012, which period is this..is it the sme as the financial year 01.03.11 to 28.02.12..??

      • Madelein van der Watt

        Hi Wallace

        The 2012 return refers to the year ending February 2013.

        Regards

        Madelein

  2. Hi Madelein
    Do you know what the ceiling amount will be for the 2012/2013 year?

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Liana

      The OID earnings limit for the year ending 28 February 2013 is currently R292 031. The new limit, effective 01 March 2013, will be R312 480

      Regards

      Madelein

      • Joyceline

        Hi Madelein
        I was trying to find out the ceiling amount for 2013/2014 year all over the search engine and couldn’t find it. Could you kindly show me where I can get the ceiling amount from?

        I have a paper form for 2011/2012 ROE form at the moment and it says that the provisional earnings for 2012/2013 ROE is R292032, as compared to your earlier mentioned R292,031?

        Sorry I am new to SA payroll, and still trying to get info from everywhere.

        Thank you
        Kind regards
        Joyceline

      • Madelein van der Watt

        Hi Joyceline

        The earnings limit for 2013/2014 is R312 480 per employee per annum

        Regards

        Madelein

      • Madelein,

        Did you get any clarification on the discounts offered by OID. As we are now struggling to get our letter of good standing after we deducted the discount.

        Please this is urgent. Can anybody please let me know about this if you have some answers.

      • Madelein van der Watt

        Hi Antoinette

        Yes, please refer to my post “Compensation Fund – Feedback on the discount process” on 29 April where I included feedback from the Compensation Fund.

        Regards

        Madelein

  3. Desiree Styger

    Please can you tell me how to get my return of earnings W.As.8 for 2012 – Mtuba Pre Primary, cannot get through by phone and also not online????

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Desiree

      If you did not receive a manual copy in the post, you need to register online at http://roe.labour.gov.za/ to submit the online version. If you cannot make use of the online submission, you will have to contact the Labour Department to arrange for a manual copy.

      The submission deadline has been extended to 30 April 2013, therefore you still have time to get hold of them.

      Regards

      Madelein

  4. Charlene

    Hi Madelein,

    I’m very new when it comes to submitting ROE. I want to find out when doing the Provisional Earnings for the following year, how do you safely estimate the staff number and earnings and still keep in limits with their requirements as not be investigated?

    Thanks

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Charlene

      The provisional earnings is just an estimation for budgeting purposes and I doubt that you will be penalised if you truely cannot stick to your estimates. I would suggest that the safest method is to apply an average percentage increase of whatever you budget for annual increases, to the earnings estimate. The headcount can be increased by the percentage growth you forecast for your company in the next year, unless you have a clear and detailed budget for staff intakes during the next 12 months. If you really have no measurements in place, then keep your staff numbers the same as the current year and increase the earning estimation according to average inflation rates. As long as you keep the estimate conservative you should be fine.

      Regards

      Madelein

  5. Ronel

    Hi Madelein,
    I have created a login profile for myself on the system and applied for the ROE for a specific company, but my client now wants to do it on her login profile. Is it possible to transfer the company to her profile then? in other words can she request the company as well?
    Thank you
    Ronel

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Ronel

      I know that the SARS e-Filing system does cater for this scenario by sending an automated request to the current profile owner to release the profile to another user. Unfortunately I am not sure whether the online ROE system caters for the same situation.

      Have you tried to add the same company profile to the new user’s login? If it does not work or there is no option to do this, my suggestion would be to contact the online ROE call centre on 0860 10 53 50 for further assistance.

      Regards

      Madelein

      • Ronel

        Thank you for your time, really appreciate it!

      • Geeta

        Hi Madelin

        Could I please have an email address to submit my payment details to Compensation Commissioner. Thanks .

  6. Lihana

    Hi

    I am trying to register online. I entered all information but it doesnt allow me to click on the “take me to ROE”‘ Can you maybe help me?

    Thanks Lihana

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Lihana

      Please ensure that you are accessing https://roe.labour.gov.za/
      If you are a new user, select Register for DOL User Account. If you have an existing profile, select Login toe ROE

      Regards

      Madelein

  7. Madelein
    what is the minimum payment on a small company with only one worker like a sole propritor

    thank you
    angela

  8. Minja du Plessis

    Hi, I have registered to submit online, however, I’m not able to go past the login screen, an error message reading ‘transaction was rolled back’ appears, any advice?
    Minja

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Minja

      That sounds like a technical error with the website or the ROE application. I suggest you try to log in again in the morning. If the error persists, please contact them on 0860 10 53 50 for advice on the situation.

      Regards

      Madelein

  9. Belinda Kirton

    Hi Madelein

    What is the CF REg No: as the number i have for Compensation Commission says it does not exist. I have been paying for 10 years.

    Regards Belinda

  10. Belinda Kirton

    Hi Madelein

    I came right as i used my old Employer Reference Number.

    Thanks Belinda

  11. Hesme

    Hi Madelein

    I am at ends meat with the Compensation Fund. I am trying to register online but the CF Reg number they gace me is incorrect. Their 0860 105 350 number does not work and I no one else knows what to do? Any suggestions please?

    Thanks Hesme

  12. Jenny de Wit

    Hi Madelein
    I have over paid Workmens \comp over the last 3 years – I did not take threshold limits into account – how do I go about rectifying this and obtaining a refund?

    Regards

    Jenny

  13. Joey Muller

    Hi Madelein,
    I am a new user and have already register. I have received my User name and Password. I try to log on into REO but it said: Your username and password combination is incorrect.

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Joey

      If the login details you have registered are not allowing you access to the online ROE submission system, please contact the COID helpdesk on 0860 105 350. They will need to confirm whether the problem is system related or whether there is a problem on your specific profile.

      Regards

      Madelein

    • Marelize

      I found that to just request “Forgott password” works best.. And you can continue instantly.
      Phoning them can take days… :-)

  14. Joey Muller

    Thanks Madelein, I am trying to phone this number 0860 105 350 for an half an hour nouw, it just gave a long ring tone and then go dead.
    Is there another way to contact them?
    Thanks Joey

  15. Joey Muller

    Hi Madelein, I can still not reach The Compensation Fund. Phoned yesterday and as from this morning the number you gave me, also the number 0123199111, I,ve send e-mails to 5 different email addresses, still NO response from The Compensation Fund. So how must I work if I can’t reach them.

    • Nirasha

      Hi There, I have been trying the 0860105350 for day, no answer. There is also a 0124065000, which is also engaged or not working? I am on hold now, at least the phone rang – I dialled the no Joey suggested – o123199111. Not sure if I will get anywhere! I have been trying to submit my ROE online since the 4 April – I keep getting an error “Submission of ROE failed. Error when billing ROE”! I did speak to them on the 4th and they said there was a problem with their website, and I must try again, well, I have been trying since then and still NOT WORKING! This is highly frustrating! Grrrrrrrrr.

      Any advice or help will be appreciated!

      Thanks, Nirasha

      • Madelein van der Watt

        Hi Nirasha

        As you can see, you are not the only one experiencing this problem. There are other employers who are having technical difficulties when trying to submit online. I have requested feedback on the stability of the online service from the Compensation Fund and will post their feedback as soon as I receive any.

        Regards

        Madelein

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Joey

      I have submitted a query to the Compensation Fund. I hope to have a response soon. In the meantime, please keep trying to contact them to ensure you do not miss the 30 April deadline.

      Regards

      Madelein

  16. nicolene

    Hi I submitted on line and it was done successfully and the next screen appeared with a invoice amount, due date and reference number. is that the assesment amount that needs to be paid and how do they determine that amount. which percentage of the actual earning do the use.

  17. nicolene

    thanx but i have no idea what the industry classifications is for this company. we maintain and transfort scaffolding. can you perhaps assisst me.

  18. Janine

    Hi,

    when you submit online they only ask for a summary of earnings; this summary i assume takes into consideration the 2013 threshold or would one fill in the total and then they apply the threshold ?

    please help !

    Thanks.

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Janine

      The value of the actual earnings you submit must be up to a maximum of R292,032 per person for the period 01 March 2012 to 28 February 2013.

      Regards

      Madelein

  19. Janine Strydom

    Hi Madelein

    How do I deregister a company with compensation commissionaire ? Will I be able to complete the deregistration on line ?

    Regards
    Janine

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Janine

      You will have to contact the Compensation Fund to obtain the necessary forms to complete to deregister your company with the fund.

      Regards

      Madelein

  20. Joey Muller

    Hi Madelein,
    Any feed back on query you have submitted to The Compensation Fund? I still striggle to get hold of them, phone-no answer, e-mail-no feed back, fax-no feed back. Time is running out. Any advice from your side?

  21. Madelein van der Watt

    Hi Joey

    I have not received any feedback to date. In the meantime, the Payroll Authors Group of South Africa will be presenting a list of concerns to the Compensation Fund Commissioner as none of the queries or complaints that have been raised through the normal communication channels have been attended to. The PAGSA will communicate the feedback to its members as soon as possible. I will let you know as soon as any news is available.

    Regards

    Madelein

  22. Joey Muller

    Hi Madelein, I have traid this morning again to reach Compensation Fund. Hold for two hours the phone listening to andswer masjien. The I tried to log on onto ROE, can”t, so I changed my password, and all of a sudden I can log on. Now I’ve done the Application for ROE Form, must I wait for something to happen, how do I get this application< because it said: Your request has been submitted for Approval.

    • Marelize

      You should receive an email with a link. Once you clicked on the link the return has been activated.. You can then login again and submit the return.

  23. Amy van Wyk

    Hi Madelein, I wanted to submit one of my clients 2012 ROE (our 2013 year) this morning, the system said that the 2011 (our 2012 year) has not been done, I don’t understand this as I have already received and paid the 2011 (2012) assessment. The system will not allow me to submit the 2012 (2013) because of this.
    As you have read by other members it is impossible to get hold of them by phone. What do I do in this case?
    Another thing, we cannot print our submissions, we are doing print screens at the moment.

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Amy

      If the system is not allowing you to submit the current year before capturing previous years online, my advice would be to replicate previous submissions online to try and access the current year. This would be the only option to ensure you submit in time if you cannot get hold of the Compensation Fund Call Centre before the 30 April 2013 deadline.

      Regards

      Madelein

  24. Vuyokazi Tshutha

    Vuyokazi Tshutha

    Hi Madelein, I wanted to submit 2012 Roe(our 2013 year ) on the 28 March 2013 and the system will not allow me to submit 2012(2013) it said I must submit 2010 then I did that, but the feed back said, it is taken for an audit I will be contacted within 5 working days, I tried to get hold of them after 5 days but I can’t get through even today

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Vuyokazi

      As you can see there are many employers who are dealing with similar issues and it seems that it is very hard to get hold of anyone at the Compensation Fund that will deal with these queries. I am also waiting on replies on the various queries I have raised with the Department for quite a while now. As soon as I have any news I will post it here but in the mean time you should continue to try and get hold of them to deal with your situation.

      Good luck!

      Madelein

    • Marelize

      I had the same problem.. Please log in and check if you can access it now.
      I was not contacted but after loging in again a few days later.. the next return was available.

  25. Kirsten J van Rensburg

    Hello Madelein
    Please will you kindly clarify the early payment discount incentive procedure. Can I deduct the discount prior to paying or do I have to wait for the department to reimburse the discount. I’ve just submitted online and I’d like to get the payment done now, but not sure how to go about the discount scenario. Many thanks

    Kind regards
    Kirsten

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Kirsten

      The discounts are awarded as follows:
      10% if assessment settled within 30 days
      5% if settled within 60 days
      2% if settled within 90 days

      You will only qualify for a discount if you submit online before the 30 April 2013 deadline. I suggest that, after receiving your assessment and you are able to settle it within 30 days, calculate the discount you qualify for and settle the assessed value less the discount allowed.

      Regards

      Madelein

      • Kirsten J van Rensburg

        Thanks very much. Just needed confirmation that I was on the right track.
        You’re a star…have a blessed day

  26. Joey Muller

    Hi Madelein,
    I have complete the registration for ROE Access, got email from then to click on link for verifying my application, the response: “Your application for ROE has been vefified. You will receive email once approved.” So I’m waiting almost a week now for the email? Any advice from your side?

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Joey

      Have you tried to log into the online ROE website with the user credentials you have registered? It is possible that your application has been approved but the email might not have been sent due to a technical error. Try to access your online profile and if your attempt fails, please try to contact the Compensation Fund to inquire about your application.

      Regards

      Madelein

  27. Sonia

    Hi Madelein
    Can you please confirm the inclusion of Directors fees? Excecutive remuneration I understand is included and the annula directors fees is not to be included according to the department. Is this correct?

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Sonia

      Only remuneration paid on a regular basis must be included. Remuneration paid as a salary to working directors or CC members must be included. Any irregular or once-off payments are excluded, therefore director fees will not be included.

      Regards

      Madelein

  28. Joey Muller

    Hi Madelein, yes I can log into the online ROE website. Put in my username & Passwoer then it goes right to the “Application for ROE Form”, this I have done sic times now,and every time they send me email to confirm receivung of application. Tjen in the mail I must click on a link to verify my application. I do so. The response::Your application for ROE has been verified.You will receive email once approved.” This is how far I can do, I’ve done this for several times now.I can’t go to the site to submit my Return. Somebody else was trying to helped me yesterday, dut it is strange for her also that I can’t go further as the Application form.

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Joey

      Something is definitely not right and it does sound like another technical issue on the website or their systems. You must try and get hold of someone at the Compensation Fund to sort out this problem for you. I know how frustrating it is to try to get through to their call centre but at this stage they are the only ones who will be able to assist with your problem.

      Good luck!

      Madelein

  29. Carlin

    Hi Madelein
    Where is this invoice generated. Do they email it , post it etc . unfortunately I am not in a position to just authorise a payment without the invoice from the WCA. We are still waiting for our 2011 Invoice , but are unable to get hold of the WCA through their call centre or email

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Carlin

      If you complete the ROE submission online, the invoice will be generated online and will be accessible through your online profile. If you submit manually however, you will have to wait until the Compensation Fund sends you an invoice for the assessed amount.

      Regards

      Madelein

      • Carlin

        Hi Madelein
        I have submitted the return online and the only info I got back was this -You have been invoiced for an amount of XXXXX which is due on the 18-May-2013. Your deposit reference number is XXXXXX. Please call 086 010 5350 and quote number XXXXXX for queries
        Where exactly do I find this generated invoice to print and keep a record of . I have pretty much clicked on every tab I can , No invoice anywhere other than this info above.
        Regards

      • Nadia

        Dear Carlin,

        The Invoice will be mailed to the e-mail address that was entered when registering on the online ROE site. And it only takes at most a day for them to send the Invoice to that specific e-mail address. So check on the Change Company Details when you login, what the e-mail address is there and if it is correct you should receive the Invoice/Assesment via that mail.

    • Marelize

      After online submission the invoice has been email to me as well. Ensure that you update the online company details before you submit the return.

  30. rene

    Hi Madelein,

    Please help . I need to register our company what is the correct procedures to follow. I printed REGISTRATION OF EMPLOYER forms can’t I do this online aswell.

  31. Caryn

    Hi Madelein

    I have just spoken to the Durban Branch , re the discount process and they advise me that the discount must not be taken off the Invoice or penalties and interest will apply. I ask how we will get the credit and he said that it will be place against our final 2013/2014 submission. I then ask how the 5% and 2.5% discount works if you got 30 days to pay the invoice, he wasn’t sure. He is currently contacting the JHB office and will get back to me ( Holding my breath). I will advise on further information I receive. I said to him it is completely unfair to people as they all think the getting discount and saving cash in their pockets only to be charged more pentalies and interest and the government will be scoring again from the little guys.

    Regards,
    Caryn

  32. Dianna Sheehan

    Hi Madelein,
    I have also been battling to get to the actual roe form to submit. I’ve registered and applied for the roe form but don’t seem to be able to log back into their system in order to access the roe? Their phones are no help.
    Kind Regards
    Dianna

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Dianna

      Other readers have experienced similar problems due to not receiving the confirmation email. At the moment you should keep on trying to contact the Fund for assistance until we receive feedback on our queries.

      Regards

      Madelein

    • Marelize

      Have you tried to reset you password. I seem to have to do that very often.

  33. Portia

    Hi Madelein
    I submitted my 2011/2012 manually last year and it is still not assessed yet. So, i resubmitted online and have received the assessment. With regards to the discounts, will it apply to this return as well or is it only for the 2012/2013 assessment?

    I also contacted the Johannesburg branch regarding payment of the assessment. They said that we must pay the amount less the discount and fax through the proof of payment. The payment will then be updated within 3 working days.

    Kind regards,
    Portia

    • Portia

      Hi All

      Just had a chat with Lunga from the Braamfontein Provincial office (Tel: 011 853 0389) . He says that we must pay the full amount as per your assessment and that the discounts are only applicable to the 2012/2013 returns.

      He also says that if you pay the assessed amount less the discount, their system will only pick up that you short paid and you may not be able to get your letter of Good Standing until you settle the account. He also says that after June, they will then be able to work out the discounts on our accounts and credit us with them (not sure if we are going to get the refunds into our bank accounts though).

      I am going to keep following up to confirm if we can pay the assessed amount less the discount and see how far i get.

      Kind regards,
      Portia

      • Madelein van der Watt

        Hi Portia

        Thank you for sharing this with us, at this stage any bit of information we can get on the subject is very welcome.

        Regards

        Madelein

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Portia

      The discounts will not apply for previous years’ submissions but there is an amnesty period until the end of June 2013 where you will not be charged penalties and interest for catching up on outstanding submissions.

      Regards

      Madelein

  34. I wonder if anyone can help! I have so frustrated and have been trying to call the call centre for 2 days – it is just engaged all the time. I have managed to register and have received all the required log in details etc. For some unknown reason I am required to do a submission inr espect of 20122 – even though I submitted that last year. However when I enter all the information and click on submit return I get the following error message submission of ROE failed …. Error when billing ROE. The help menu doesn’t help, there are no error definitions anywhere, so I really don’t know what to do next. Anyfeedback would be much appreciated!

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Mandy

      The error your experienced seems to be a general technical error that occurs quite often. Please try submitting again, hopefully the problem would be resolved. If not, please try getting hold of someone at the Compensation Fund to look into this problem for you.

      Regards

      Madelein

      • Hi
        Thanks …………… I actually went into the CT DOL offiices this am ……. didn’t get far, they will just log the query and hopefully it will be resolved!

  35. Melissa

    I want to submit my ROE online and our number of employees for 2012 and 2013 differ, how do I indicate this on the system as there is only one field to complete the number of employees and if I try and submit it reflects that number under both years? I have also tried to phone them, but no joy as yet.

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Melissa

      If you are submitting the ROE for 2012, then the number of employees you specify must be the actual number that applies to the 2012 return. The values for 2013 will be provisional values. The online submission does not require a provisional headcount like the manual form does. Only enter the actual number of employees relevant to the year you are submitting for.

      Regards

      Madelein

  36. Alida Diogo

    Good morning Madeleine – I registered this morning and now I logged in. At the application for an ROE form, I need to fill in a CF Registration number, which I did. The answer I got after I pressed the button which says: Get Organisation, the message I get: Organisation details not found/Please contact the System Administrator. Please help. Thank you for your time. Alida

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Alida

      Please make sure that the CF number supplied is correct according to the requirements.

      According to the latest FAQ published on http://www.labour.gov.za, the CF number you need to enter is the first seven digits of the old registration number, preceeded by 00
      On the application page it also states that the first two digits must be zero, followed by the first 7 digits of the 11 digit number.

      Regards

      Madelein

  37. Joey Muller

    Hi Madelein,
    On the application form it said CR Registartion number OR Contact Account number, you only have to put in one number, my old registration number is not 11 degits, its only 9, so I used only the new account number.I am still striggeling to get my approval email, spoken to then yesterday, and they promissed again, as many times before yesterday I will get my mail today, before 15:00, if not so I must phone them again. So I goes for two weeks now, I have send them an email with all my queries, and to who I have spoken on the phone, and all the prommisses, no responce. So the time is running out, and I believe I will not get my mail today, or in the next 3days that is left over for the month, and I can not do my submissions before the end of the month.

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Joey

      I know you have been battling with the same problem for a while now. It is shocking to hear that even after you managed to get hold of someone at the Compensation Fund your problem is still not sorted out. Have you considered submitting the manual form instead, just to ensure you make the deadline?

      Regards

      Madelein

  38. Joey Muller

    Hi Madelein,
    Yes, like the laday told me yesterday I must wait till 15:00, it is now 15:10 and did not received the email. It is now useless to phone them, I rather try again tomorrow morning. Yes I have thought to do it manually, BUT there is not enough time now for them to received it in the post before end of month AND they said, if you have register on line you must not do it manually. So when it is time for the penalties, I’ve got record of every email I have send them, every phone call I”ve made, time and person’s name I have spoken to, BUT after every thing I have gone through, belive that it will not help anything. May be I must start believing I will be lucky and helpfull when I phone then again tomorrow.
    Have a nice day.
    Joey

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Joey

      Good luck! If I come across any more info that can help I will let you know.

  39. Bets

    Hi Madelein,
    Can you please help me…I am trying to download the W.As.8 form for 2013, but to no avail. Is there a direct web address which I can maybe try?
    (presumably due to the post office strike we have not yet received the form by post)

    Kind regards
    Bets

  40. Deloshni Naicker

    Hi

    I have tried submitting the return online but it comes up with an error that reads ” UPDATE OF ROE FAILED…12029″.

    Does anyone know what that code means???

    regards
    Deloshni

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Deloshni

      It sounds like a problem that could be caused by the online ROE system being slow or overloaded. Please try again a bit later.

      Regards

      Madelein

  41. Joanne Dixon

    Hi

    I have a client that has two registration numbers. When registering online, I captured the latest number I received. It finds the name and company details however, it cannot pick up or retrieve any return of earnings for submission. I tried with the old number, that also found the company name and details, when requesting submit return of earnings, it could also not find any return of earnings for submission. What can I do? They have never been assessed and I sent a form every year.

    Kind Regards

    Joanne

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Joanne

      Please ensure that you received and accessed the confirmation emails that should be sent during the registration process. The first confirmation email would have been to verify your new profile and login details. A second email would have been sent to confirm the details of the company you have registered on your profile. A third and final confirmation would have been sent to finalise the registration and activate the ROE forms on your profile. If you did not receive the third confirmation or email or you did receive and verify the link but the ROE is still not available, you must contact the Compensation Fund call centre for further assistance on 0860 105 3500.

      Regards

      Madelein

  42. Felicity

    Hi Madelein

    Please help me im struggling to get hold of the ROE, i didn’t make the deadline to do my ROE for last year,I’m register online but the return is not available for me to do so what must i do i sit for hours on the line but no answering the line just ring and after a while it goes dead the 086 number also does’nt work

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Felicity

      Please try again and if the error persists, you must contact the call centre for assistance. Keep in mind that the amnesty period for submitting previous years’ returns is available until 30 June 2013.

      Regards

      Madelein

  43. Tamsin

    Hi there
    Does anyone know how to add an organisation to the ROE profile, i am battling to add it. It says the details cannot be found/error/failed etc.

    Please Help!
    Thank you

    Tamsin

  44. Collin Julies

    Hi Madelein,

    I submit my ROE for 2012/2013 but after the submission I discover that some of the number I submitted was incorrect. Is there a way that I can reverse this and resubmit my Roe with the correct numbers? I tried calling the 0860105350 number but cant get through

    Please help
    Thank you Collin

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Collin

      The only advice I have is to get hold of the Compensation Fund for assistance, either by contacting the call centre, emailing roe@labour.gov.za or visiting your nearest Labour Centre.

      Regards

      Madelein

  45. Kobus

    How long after the submission does one get an assessment?

    So, submitted in April, is the 30 days (for discount) calculated from date of submission or assessment?

    PS: Madelein, I know you don’t have all the answers but thanks for the effort. :)

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Kobus

      If the submission is done online, the assessment should be raised instantly, unless a technical problem prevents the online invoice from being generated. You should receive notification of your assessment via email.
      If the submission is done manually the assessment process takes much longer to complete. I know of cases where assessments have not been completed even by the time the next year’s submission is due!
      The discount terms are applied from invoice date therefore if you settle the amount owed within 30 days of the assessment date you should receive the maximum discount.
      In theory, the online system creates the situation where date of submission and invoice date is the same because the assessment should be completed immediately once the return of earnings was submitted.

      I am glad to be of assistance where possible. If you have any payroll or HR related questions you need answered, please feel free to ask.

      Regards

      Madelein

  46. Janette

    Is anyone having the same problem? We submitted our return on line before the deadline & deducted the 10% when making payment. Now we have requested the “Letter of Good Standing” as one of our tender’s requirements & we are told we should not have deducted the 10% & until we have paid it, they cannot issue it. Surely when you advertise a discount, you can claim it when paying? Or have I got it wrong? Any suggestions?

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Janette

      Unfortunately the Compensation Commissioner does not apply discount procedures as you normally would in a commercial environment. Previous communications indicated that employers must pay the full amount due and discount will be awarded after the fact. I assume they will process it as a credit on your account to benefit from next year.
      Please visit my last post on the subject that contains the feedback from the Compensation Fund in this regard (http://pastelpayroll.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/compensation-fund-feedback-on-the-discount-process/)

      Regards

      Madelein

  47. Janette

    Thanks Madelein much appreciated.

  48. Annemarie

    Good day Madelein,
    i Have registered and did the submission online, but i keep getting the ROE error and it seems that the prossess is not going through. I have send emails and contacted the contact number 0860 105 350 and also the number 012 319 9424, but the numbers keeps ingaged or no answer. Please please i need some help in this regard. If anyone know what i need to do email me at salaries@delthorn.co.za.

    Regards
    Annemarie

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Annemarie

      The error you received sounds like a common technical problem many users have experienced during the submission process. The only advice I can give you is to check the website again a bit later to try and submit again. If the problem persists, the only option left is to get hold of the Compensation Fund for technical assistance.

      Kind Regards

      Madelein

  49. Dawn Bell

    Hi Madelein,

    Can you confirm what must be included in “earnings”. One of the companies I submit for has farm workers who earn monthly overtime, performance bonus and food allowance. Should these be included?
    Thank you.

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Dawn

      The general rule is to include earnings of a regular nature. By definition, overtime is an irregular earning but if in your situation it is paid on a regular basis, it should be included.

      Regards

      Madelein

  50. zaniel

    Hi Madelein

    I made an online account on ROE but I need to ask a few questions.

    Where to you get the OID rates? And does it differ from company to company?

    I also need to ask where do I print the statement for each year? Because I cant click on reports and where to I go to make corrections?

    I also want to know how do I update my ROE online account?

    Your response will be highly appreciated!

    Thank you
    Zaniel

  51. Mega

    I have made an error on my online roe. I now have a huge assessment to pay. How do i correct this error. Please help.

    Regards
    Mega

  52. zaniel

    Hi Madelein

    What number can I call for a query on an invoice for return of earnings?

    All the numbers are busy and no one seem to be able to help me!!!

  53. Keshni

    Hi Madelein,
    I had registered a company on my profile to submit their return of earnings. I am no longer in charge of submitting these returns. How do I deregister them from my online profile or how do i delete myself from the online profile?

  54. Vetty Tebogo

    im trying to register online,but the system reply : individual details fetch failed,please help

  55. ken

    Hi Madelein,
    How do we de-register from WCA – we de-registered manually about 4 years ago, but recently received an invoice with amount outstanding. Please assist.

  56. Hi,

    I have performed a declaration to WCA on a client’s current earnings and the provisional too. Later on to discover that the amount exceeded their earnings, due to the season effects in the civil engineering industry. Is there by any chance that I could resubmit the declaration, to rectify any mistakes made? Or would this be a major issue or even criminal proceedings?

  57. Shaun Eksteen

    Hi Madelein
    I would like to know is the issue regarding the discount been sorted out because we have clients that cant get their letter of good standing just because of that discount amount that is outstanding. please assist me!!!

  58. Shaun

    Hi Madelein
    I would like to know is the issue regarding the discount been sorted out because a few of our clients cant get their letters of good standing because of the discount amounts that was deducted before the monies was paid over to the compensation fund. and for this reason their letter of good standing is been declined. please assist me in this matter.

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Shaun

      The last news we received on this subject is that although the rebate is referred to as a discount, you cannot treat it as you would normally treat a discount by applying it prior to payment of an invoice. The COID requires you to pay 100% of your assessment and only once they have received payment will they review your account and apply the discount as a credit on your account. The letter of good standing will not be issued until you have paid the full outstanding amount on the account, even if you qualified for a discount.

      Regards

      Madelein

  59. Lindie

    Hi Madelein
    Do you know what the ceiling amount will be for the 2013/2014 year?

    Regards
    Lindie

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Lindie

      The earnings limit for 2013/2014 is R312 480

      Regards

      Madelein

      • Gary Campbell

        Hi Madelein

        Do you know what the earnings limit is for 2014/15 for the provisional assessment?

        Rgds

        Gary

      • Madelein van der Watt

        Hi Gary

        I don’t know the new limit yet but will publish it on this blog as soon as it is available

        Regards

        Madelein

  60. Shaun

    hi Madelein

    Could you please respond to my comment please

  61. Theresa Ferguson

    Hi Madelein, please confirm the new limit for the 2014/2015 period, thanks.

  62. MJ

    Hi Madelein
    I logged into the system to submit for 2013 only there is no option for this – it only goes until 2012 (I submitted online with no problem last year). Do you perhaps know why this might be the case? When is the deadline for submission for 2013?

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi MJ

      The 2013 submission deadline will probably be 30 April 2014, although nothing has been announced by the Department yet. I have also not received any notification of online submissions being available for the new year. As soon as I have some info to share, I will publish a post. Perhaps you can contact the COID call centre for further assistance.

      Regards

      Madelein

      • Rene

        Hi Madelein
        Do you know anything about the error of failed when billing ROE?

  63. Marlene

    Good afternoon Madelein,
    I am hoping you can advise me :-)
    I registered last year and submitted without a problem. I want to submit the latest but there is no option for 2013? Is there some steps I need to follow?

    Much appreciated
    Marlene

    • Madelein van der Watt

      Hi Marlene

      I haven’t received word yet that the online system is ready to accept 2013 returns. I have noticed that the system was upgraded and that users are required to delete their temporary internet files to allow the new system to function properly. Please try this if you have not yet done so. If the problem persists. I suggest you contact the COID call centre for assistance. I will post any new info as soon as I receive any.

      Regards

      Madelein

      • Mandy Spreeth

        Hi, I have just logged onto the website to submit our 2013 return and have the same problem as Marlene, being that there is no option available for 2013. I did try to call them to verify but held on for ages and then was cut off. Has anyone been successful in their submission yet? Is do you have any more feedback?

      • Madelein van der Watt

        Hi Mandy

        The department did announce that online returns for 2013 will only be available from 01 April this year. The deadline was also extended to 31May 2014

        Regards

        Madelein

  64. Diana Moolman

    The cieling limit for 2014 is R332479

  65. Rene

    HI
    I am also struggeling to submit the return due to “failed when billing ROE” weet iemand dalk wat aangaan. Kontak my by 014 743 1035 Rene O’Neill

  66. Yogita

    Hi Madelein

    What happens in a case where the earnings are more than the stipulated maximum amount.

    Regards
    Yogi

  67. kea

    i submitted the the ROE and it was my first time an i struggled and the labour house in Rustenburg were no hwlp at all but now i have a problem it say my earning is less 30% than last year as i didn’t know you put the total annual me i just inserted for only one month for all employees and now they say the handed the matters to the auditor, will there be problems as i cannot fix this as it does not allow me to correct, please help im desperate.

    submitted yesterday

  68. Kathy Fisher

    Hi Madelein
    I have been trying to log in to the ROE, but never pass the page where they
    ask for company CK Number..The last email i received was regarding activation of my account, Unless i am not understanding the whole proceedure. I registered, then got an email giving me an option to change my password and activate my account. I have tried to call, but they do not answer. I have tried to download a W.AS8 for 2013, but cannot find one. Please help me, i have 2 clients i need to do returns for.
    Many thanks

Leave a Reply

