New wage rates for the Metal and Engineering Industries Bargaining Council (MEIBC)

Industry wage rates for workers employed in the metal and engineering industries will increase by 7% to 8% effective 01 July 2012. This increase is in accordance with the Industry Settlement Agreement published on 23 September 2011.

The bargaining council will publish the detailed wage tables on their website, www.meibc.co.za.

Please note that all wage exemption applications must be submitted by the 31 July 2012 deadline.

17 Comments

Filed under General, Industry Information, Legislative Updates

17 responses to “New wage rates for the Metal and Engineering Industries Bargaining Council (MEIBC)

  1. Madelein van der Watt

    The new wage tables effective 01 July 2012 are now available on the MEIBC website. The document can be downloaded from http://www.meibc.co.za/images/upload/07_2011_industry_wage_increases_2011-2012-f.pdf

  2. m moriat hoza

    Hi , im one of your member , if i can ask what if get sick and stay home for more than 2 months , do i get paid or not ? or you pay me ?

    • Maritsa

      Hi m moriat hoza
      You get 30 days paid sick leave over a period of 3 years. Pastel Payroll does not have any members that we would pay if they were on sick leave. We have normal employees that work for us. Please can you give me more information as to what your question is? Do you want to know if your employer should pay you when you are on sick leave? Are you a member of the Metal and Engineering Industries Bargaining Council (MEIBC)?
      Kind Regards
      Maritsa

  3. nandie

    hi i’m working as a testoperator for the transformer company and im earning c-grade which is 40.82,but i;m working at high voltage.

  4. seleke Tuelo

    I only want to know about a welders rates because I have been working as a welder for a period of 2yrs earning R 120 per day its only my complein I thnk u

  5. megan

    how much does a just qaulified electrical artisan should be paid rate per hour

  6. ANET

    HI Madelein. please assist me with the wages of a die castors hourly rate,I have been looking at the new rates,but canot find a die castor(masjine)operators info
    Regards
    ANET

  7. Eden Campbell

    Hi…I’m working as a semi-skilled fitter an Welder,I do most of th welding I’m our company as I’m regarded as 1 of the best welders,I also do boliermaking work when requested,my company keeps on promising me an apprenticeship but it neva happens,is there a place I can go for help or a institution,an what is the minimum wage for a semi-skilled worker

  8. Hannes Swart Hannes

    Why is it that my employer do not pay back pay from 1st of july.He says that mabifa dit not sign doc to have back pay so he does not to pay

  9. kevinh

    hi im working for a signage company and i would like to find out what my right grading should be as i feel i am being under paid i have been working for this company for 3 an a half years i do programming of machines and designing which i have paperwork for designing and i am graded at grade G which is 34.77 per hour is that the right grade that i am suppose to be getting most of the guys at work are being under paid i would like to know how do we go about getting someone in to grade us the company hasnt been graded for the past 4 years

  10. Bongi Mthimkulu

    hi i am a powder coating operator now can u please tell me which grade do i fall n rate thank u.

  11. Sanele

    How much normal rate for Safety officer in metal and engineering bargain council.
    Safety officer with national diploma in safety management and 2years expierence.

  12. Johannes Alwyn bester

    Hi I’m a MEIBC member and just qualified as an electrician what is the minimum rates to expect?

  13. Siyabonga Theophilus mfuleni

    I just wish to know according to meice how much must be a basic salary for a cleaner or drill operation or labour

  14. Hi, I am a technician in the electronics field with more than 5 years experience and studying towards a Btech in the same field, I get paid 55,86 rands per hour. Is this fare for a person of my experience and education? What can I do to make this situation fare?

  15. Unknown

    Hi, I am a technician in the electronics field with more than 2 years experience and studying towards a Btech in the same field, I get paid 50.65 rands per hour, salary they offered me when i was still a student doing my Inservice training. But now that I have a national diploma and doing my BTech; Is this fair for a person of my experience and education? What can I do to make this situation fair?

Leave a Reply

